Local Information

Greensboro is located in north central North Carolina, about 100 miles northeast of Charlotte, NC and about 100 miles west of Raleigh, NC.  The population of Greensboro is about 235,000, and that of the greater Metropolitan Statistical Area: 1,500,000.  This area  is the Piedmont Triad, which has vertices Greensboro, High Point, Winston-Salem, and Burlington  (someone lost count).

 Downtown Greensboro has seen much redevelopment during the past ten years and now has apartments, condominiums,  restaurants (about forty), night clubs and one brewpub.   Also downtown is the  main branch of the Greensboro Public Library, Greensboro Museum, Greensboro Civic Center, City Central Park (a free WiFi Hot Spot), Greensboro Civil Rights Museum, Baseball Park, and the restored Carolina Theater  (built in 1927), which is now a performing arts center.  All these places are within walking distance of the Marriott Downtown Hotel (walking distance is defined as no more than 12 city blocks).

We have listed some Tourist Attractions in and around Greensboro

Other Tourist Information about Greensboro and North Carolina

    Tax Rates: N.C. Sales Tax in Greensboro is 7%.  Greensboro Hotel/Motel Room Tax is 6%.

    Alcohol Laws - The legal drinking age in North Carolina is 21 years of age. Alcoholic beverages may be served until 2 am standard or daylight time. No alcoholic beverages may be purchased before 12 noon on Sunday. All alcoholic beverages are sold in state-controlled ABC stores, except for beer and wine which may be purchased in wine specialty shops or convenience and grocery stores.

     Speed Limits - Statewide speed limit is 55 mph except  where posted on certain sections of interstate highways.  The citywide speed limit is 35 mph unless otherwise posted.  School zone speed limits are 25 mph.  It is illegal to pass a stopped School Bus in either direction.

    Right on Red - Drivers may turn right on red unless otherwise posted.

    Seat Belts - The state requires seat belts for all front seat drivers and passengers.  Back seat passengers over the age of 16 are exempt from wearing seat belts. Children under the age of eight or  weighing less than 80 pounds must ride in a child-restraint device meeting Federal standards. Children up to age 16  must wear an age appropriate restraint device regardless of where they sit in the car. Motorists will be fined- $25 for failure to obey seat belt laws.

    Headlights - North Carolina law  requires drivers to use headlights whenever windshield wipers are used for inclement weather. Motorcyclists are required to wear helmets and use headlights at all times.